Read on
Questions?
Your question:
 
2021-02-08

Journal of Cultural Management and Cultural Politics | Launch Event: Museum – Politics – Management

JCMCP Logo
 

Online launch event, March 4, 2021


It’s our great pleasure to invite you to the unique opportunity to meet the contributors of the current issue:

Registration Link

Please register for the event until February 25th, 2021.

 

Museum – Politics – Management

What could 21st-century museums be? In light of the global pandemic, environmental degradation, and racial justice crises, the contributions in this issue offer international perspectives, timely responses and thorough research on museum management, collection and archiving practices, curatorial approaches, and cultural policy instruments used to transform existing museum infrastructures. What is a "decolonized" collection? How does it affect exhibition development and public programming? How can museums serve a diverse collective memory in the future and what implications does this have for museum users? What role does "the digital museum" play in this context? And how does cultural policy need to respond to such novel approaches?


Along guest editor Zahava D Doering, senior social scientist at Thinc Design, New York and editor emerita, Curator: The Museum Journal, the following authors will introduce their perspectives on the topics mentioned above (in the order of their appearance):


  • Robert Janes (University of Leicester) and Geoff Ward (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Bruno Verbergt (University of Antwerpen) and Lisa Gaupp (Leuphana University Lüneburg, Germany)
  • Laura Gibson (King’s College, London) and Thandi Nxumalo (former assistant curator at the Vukani Museum—part of the Fort Nongqayi Museum complex in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
  • Jennifer Benoit-Bryan (SloverLinett Audience Research) and Michelle Moon (Independent museum consultant)
  • Anika Walke (Washington University in St. Louis)


Afterwards, there will be time for you to engage in individual discussions with the authors and to socialize with the other audience members.


Please join us for the event which will last about 1.5 hours. Below is some orientation to the time zones.


  • 15:00:00 UTC (GMT)
  • 16:00:00 CET (Berlin, Amsterdam)
  • 23:00:00 CST (Beijing)
  • 10:00:00 EST (New York)


Please register for the event via this form until February 25th, 2021. You will receive further technical instructions in a second step.


You’re welcome to share this newsletter within your network of peers and students who might be interested in following the event online.


We’re looking forward to meeting you online!


Martin Tröndle, Steffen Höhne und Constance DeVereaux, Editors-in-Chief
Zahava D Doering, Guest Editor
Johanna Schindler, Managing Editor

Contact

Schindler, Johanna Dr phil
   |   Curriculum Vitae